top of page

Paulo Coelho: “The world is changed by your example, not by your opinion.”

Paulo Coelho was put in an insane asylum at a young age. His parents believed he was psychotic. Coelho himself would most likely consider himself to be spiritual not crazy. He’s a very celebrated author today. One of his books won the Guinness record, for being translated into the most languages with a living author.

Coelho’s quote means that change is caused by action not thoughts. Coelho isn’t the first to say this, and he won’t be that last either. Coelho wanted to find enlightenment. Coelho went on a pilgrimage where he found his enlightenment and wrote a book about his experience. An example of how this quote applied to Coelho is in how he refused to follow in his parents footsteps. He fled his old life and traveled the world. These actions changed his life and set it on a course for future success.

When relating this quote to my own life, very few examples come to mind. The example I’m using is about working out. No matter how much I state my opinion on how to work out or the best diet to build a body it won’t change anything. To change my body I have to work out and do what I need to get in shape through my actions, not my thoughts.

Works Cited

Day, Elizabeth. "A Mystery Even to Himself." The Telegraph. 13 June 2005. Web. 28 Feb. 2016. <telegraph.co.uk/culture/donotmigrate/3643720/A-mystery-even-to-himself.html>.

Recommanded Reading

Multitasking and time management

The Natural human learning process

Professional communication

Comma project

Bibliography

Reading narrative

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page