top of page

The Natural Human Learning Process and my personal experiences

With the natural human learning process (NHLP) and proper understanding, learning can be faster and more efficient than ever before. The NHLP was researched and written by Dr. Smilkstein. This research describes how we learn and why our brain is involved in the process. This research even explains the effect emotions have on learning. The NHLP is simple in theory and very complex with a great variety of specifics that are explained by Dr. Smilkstein and her research.

The NHLP as defined by Dr. Smilkstein is summarized in six simple stages. Motivation is the first stage of the learning process, or wanting to learn. The second stage is starting to practice. The third stage is practicing more advanced techniques. Skillfulness is the fourth stage, when you have enough talent to share and enjoy it with others. The fifth stage is refinement, or time spent trying to perfect something. The final stage of the learning process is mastery, when you can teach and achieve the most difficult level of a skill. (Smilkstein, chapter 2)

I began learning to lie through the NHLP like anyone else does. Stage one; my motivation was I didn’t want to get in trouble. The second stage was practicing, when I began lying more often. The third stage advanced practice, learning and understanding when to lie. The fourth stage skillfulness, I knew when a lie would or wouldn’t be helpful. The fifth step refinement meant that I understood more about how and when to lie. The sixth stage mastery, I learned to use lies and avoid truths that would expose it. This summarizes how I learned to lie using the NHLP.

A great way to understand brain cells is comparing them to trees. The myelin sheath protects the axon and neuron from getting damaged like the bark of a tree. The axon is similar to the core of the tree, long and narrow, stretching to the axon tails or bulb. The axon terminal bulb and dendrites function similar to roots and leaves which gather nutrients allowing for growth. Instead of pulling water they conduct electrical-chemical impulses across the synaptic gap. As electrical-chemical impulses fire in the synaptic gap it causes the soma and the entire neuron to grow from the stimulation of the chemicals.

The growth of a neuron from synaptic firing is well explained by comparing it to a spark plug. The synaptic gap is a space between two neurons that fills with neurotransmitters. Neurotransmitters conductivity allows electrical-chemical messages across the synaptic gap that fuel the growth of the soma. The empty compression chamber of an engine (synaptic gap) is filled with a mixture of gas and fuel (neurotransmitters)then compressed to an optimal pressure for a small controlled explosion (neurons firing). The spark plug is an exposed conductor with a gap allowing a spark (electrical-chemical message) to jump across and ignite the compressed fuel to power an engine (growth of a neuron). Like any engine, certain kinds of fuel can increase (endorphins) or reduce (nor-epinephrine) the performance. Engines (brain) were built to handle stress but it’s still best to avoid stress as much as possible.

Emotions affect my ability to learn and present information for better and worse. I once had to give a presentation representing my business class to a board of judges. When I gave the presentation to my class mates and teacher, I was confident and performed it with grace. This strong performance was thanks to all the endorphins powering my brain. When I had to present to the board, I became nervous flooding my brain with nor-epinephrine. Nor-epinephrine shuts down the synapses preventing the recall of information which was noticeable by my stumbling words. I stumbled and choked most of my way through the presentation and forgot nearly half of what I had practiced. This is strong evidence that negative and positive emotions can greatly affect learning.

The NHLP is a great learning tool. With a better understanding of the NHLP and learning strategies, I can ease the difficulties of learning. I can take the skills I’m not confident with and improve those using specific learning strategies. Learning strategies include ASPIRE, a study technique that involves an emotional analysis. ASPIRE, starts with a positive attitude. Next, I begin inspecting past work to reflect on. Finish by evaluating previous work for a pattern and exploring options that could improve or change the findings. Another learning strategy to improve my use of commas is the AS I WAIT technique, which helps breakdown the rules of when to use a comma. With more confidence and practice in these skills, I’ll become a better writer then I am now, which is why the NHLP is so important to understand.

Works Cited

Smilkstein, Rita. We're Born to Learn: Using the Brain's Natural Learning Process to Create Today's Curriculum. 1st ed. Thousand Oaks, Cal.: Corwin. 2003.

The learning toolbox. James Madison University. Web. 16 Feb. 2016. <coe.jmu.edu/learningtoolbox/asiwait.htm>

Joe Landsburger. “A.S.P.I.R.E” A study system. Study Guides and Strategies. Web. 16 Feb. 2016. <studygs.net/aspire.htm>

Recommanded Reading

Multitasking and time management

The Natural human learning process

Professional communication

Comma project

Bibliography

Reading narrative

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page